Sens. Stiles & Kelly Honored as “Champions” by Education Consortium

Gwen Merrick | 03.28.14

Norwood, MA - Senate Health, Education, and Human Services Committee members Nancy Stiles, R-Hampton, and Molly Kelly, D-Keene, were recently honored as “Champions” by the New England Secondary School Consortium (NESSC) for their work to improve secondary school educational outcomes in New Hampshire.  

The NESSC’s state and regional “Champion Award” honors the unique contributions of New England leaders working to raise graduation rates, lower dropout rates, and send more students on to college and postsecondary-certification programs.

Specifically, Committee Chairman Stiles was honored as the driving force behind recent efforts to reform New Hampshire’s public-education funding system to ensure predictable funding that provides stability to state and school-district budgets, and for her work revising the state’s minimum education standards.  

Senator Kelly was commended as the prime sponsor of school-accountability legislation that guarantees an adequate education for all children in New Hampshire, as well as for her work to create a safer learning environment though anti-bullying/cyber-bullying legislation and her safe-school-building initiative.

“Ensuring a high-quality education for every student is absolutely essential both on an individual level and collectively for every state and community in New England,” said David Ruff, executive director of the Great Schools Partnership and the NESSC.  “This year’s Champion Award winners stand out as leaders and community members dedicated to giving our young people the education they deserve.”  Senators Stiles and Kelly were among seven regional leaders honored by the consortium.

The award winners were announced on Friday, March 21, at the annual High School Redesign in Action conference hosted by the NESSC in collaboration with the departments and agencies of education in each of the six New England states.  More about the NESCC can be found at their website:

> Read the full press release at

©2012 New England Secondary School Consortium

For more information:

Stephen Abbott, Director of Communications