New England Secondary School Consortium

Our Council

THE NEW ENGLAND SECONDARY SCHOOL CONSORTIUM COUNCIL brings together a diverse cross section of state leaders, the Council provides strategic leadership to Consortium activities, while acting as champions for its vision, mission, and goals.

Council members were instrumental in drafting and passing resolutions of support for the Consortium in all five states, while also actively supporting in-state educational-improvement efforts within their spheres of influence.

Connecticut Members

Dianna Roberge-Wentzell, Commissioner of Education
Melissa Hickey, Ed.D.,Reading/Literacy Director, CT DOE
Carolyn Abdullah Director of Community Assistance, Everyday Democracy
Susan Bell Superintendent, Windsor Locks Public Schools
Joseph CirasuoloExecutive Director, Connecticut Association of Public School Superintendents
Ken Daly,Assistant Principal, Wallingford Public Schools
Jeffrey Kitching, Executive Director, EdAdvance (RESC)
Suzanne Loud Associate Consultant, Connecticut State Department of Education
Patrice McCarthy,Deputy Director/General Counsel, Association of Boards of Education
Salvatore Menzo Superintendent, Wallingford School Department
Caroline Messenger,Director of Curriculum, Naugatuck Public Schools
Karissa Niehoff Executive Director, Connecticut Association of Schools
Don Romoser, Past President, PTA
Wendy Scott,Teacher, Bolton Public Schools
Malia Sieve,Director, HCM Strategists
Barbara St. Onge,Education Consultant, Technical High School System
Allan B. Taylor, Chair, State Board of Education
Nivea Torres, Superintendent, Connecticut Technical High School System
Jeffrey Villar Executive Director, Connecticut Council for Education Reform

Maine Members

Robert Hasson, Commissioner of Education
Rachelle Tome,Chief Academic Officer, Maine Department of Education
Ed Cervone, Executive Director, Educate Maine
Steve Connolly, Superintendent, MSAD 60
Diana DoironProficiency-Based Education Specialist, Maine Department of Education
Ben Gilman, Senior Government Relations Specialist, Maine State Chamber of Commerce
Martha Harris, Chair, Maine State Board of Education
Chris Howell, Principal, Windham High School
Brian Hubbell, Representative, State Legislature 
Mary Nadeau, Principal, Nakomis Regional High School

New Hampshire Members

Frank Edelblut Commissioner of Education
Paul Leather, Deputy Commissioner of Education
Chris Motika,Administrator for Integrated Programs and Title 1, Department of Education
Evelyn Aissa, Executive Director, Reaching Higher New Hampshire
Bill McGowan, Principal, Winnacunnet High School
Brian Stack, Principal, Sanborn Regional High School
Peter Stackhouse, Executive Director, Great Bay eLearning Charter School
Nancy Stiles, State Senator, Chair of the Health, Education, and Human Services Committee
Connie Van Houten, Member, Manchester Board of School Committee 

Rhode Island Members

Ken Wagner, Commissioner of Education
Mary Ann Snider,Deputy Commissioner for Teaching & Learning, RIDE
Cali Cornell,Education Specialist, Office of Multiple Pathways, Rhode Island Department of Education
Gregg Amore,Legislator, State Legislature
Michael Barnes,Superintendent, Foster-Glocester Public Schools
Rosemary Costigan, Assistant Dean, Community College of Rhode Island
Paula Dillon, Assistant Superintendent, Barrington Public Schools
Daniela Fairchild,Director of Education, Governor’s Office of Innovation
Stephanie Geller, Senior Policy Analyst, RI Kids Count
Patricia Page, Teacher (of the year), East Greenwich Public Schools
Hope Schachter, Program Director, Connect to College (C2C), Community College of RI
Jamie Scurry,  Dean, School of Continuing Studies, Roger Williams University
John Simmons, Executive Director, RI Public Expenditure Council 

Vermont Members

Rebecca Holcombe, Secretary of Education
Heather Bouchey, Deputy Secretary of Education
Jess DeCarolis,Education Division Director, Personalization & Flexible Pathways, VT AOE
John Castle Superintendent, North Country Supervisory Union
Pat Fitzsimmons Mathematics & Science Partnership Program Manager, VT Agency of Education
Ned Kirsch Superintendent, Franklin West Supervisory Union
Andre Messier Principal, Lake Region High School
Sigrid Olson,Program Coordinator, Personalization & Flexible Pathways, VT Agency of Education
Ken Page,Executive Director, Vermont Principals Association
Amy RexCo-Principal, Harwood Union High School
Lisa VentrissPresident, Vermont Business Roundtable

At-Large Members

Nicholas Donohue, President and CEO, Nellie Mae Education Foundation
Charlie Toulmin, Director of Policy, Nellie Mae Education Foundation
Janet Allison, Director of the Secondary Commission, New England Association of Schools and Colleges
Michael Thomas, President and CEO of the New England Board of Higher Education

Great Schools Partnership Members

David Ruff, Executive Director
Mark Kostin, Associate Director
Duke Albanese, Senior Policy Advisor
Stephen Abbott, Director of Communications
Angela Hardy, Director of Coaching
Sarah Linet,Policy Specialist